Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

FFA racks up honors, sends teams to nationals PDF Print E-mail

By Carolyn Lee
The Imperial Republican

It was a highly successful State FFA Convention for the Imperial FFA chapter. Five State Proficiency championships, two teams headed for national competition, two runner-up teams, one third-place and one fourth-place team,  numerous individual ribbons, four State FFA degrees, one State Star and a new State FFA president.
The state convention was held in Lincoln April 3-6, with 37 students competing, listening to speakers and attending workshops.
The state proficiency champions earning golds on Thursday were Derek Schilke, Emerging Agricultural Technology-Entrepreneurship/Placement; Jordan Gibb, Ag Mechanics Design and Fabrication-Entrepreneurship/Placement; Michaela Ketter, Turf Grass Management-Entrepreneurship/Placement; Steven Fish, Diversified Crop Production-Entrepreneurship and Jared Knobbe, Agricultural Services-Entrepreneurship/Placement. Callin Ledall, Turf Grass Management-Entrepreneurship/Placement, thook third place.
Proficiency applications highlight FFA members’ Supervised Agricultural Experiences (SAE’s).
All five champions will be judged on the national level, and the top four finalists in each category will be interviewed during the national convention.
Teams to nationals
The Market Plan team won the state championship in the Career Development Event (CDE) Friday, earning them the right to represent Nebraska at the 2013 National FFA Convention in Louisville, Ken.
Team members are Sam Haarberg, Tyler Oxford and Blair Hartman.
In the marketing Plan competition students have to create a way to add value to an existing business. They have to write a five-page plan identifying and explaining the analysis of the market, business proposition, strategies and action plan, and budget.
The Senior Parliamentary Procedure team in the Leadership Skills Events (LSE’s) was also declared a state champion Friday, earning them a trip to Louisville. That team consists of Justin German, Shandra Johnson, Callin Ledall, Spencer Hartman, Ashlin Bussell and Cassie Burpo.
The competition involves demonstrating the proper way to conduct business at a meeting under the ruling authority of Roberts Rules of Order Newly Revised 11th Edition.
The team has to take a 25 question test over different aspects of parliamentary law, conduct a ten-minute demonstration and orally answer questions about parliamentary law.
Other teams garnering honors Friday were:

  • State Runner-Up Food Science team of Claire Kuenne, Jessica Hartman, Mindy Castle and MaKenna Ketter, coached by Carma Hartman (Castle was eighth in the individual food science competition).
  • Fourth place Ag Sales team of Callin Ledall, Jessica Hartman, Sam Haarberg and Blair Hartman, coached by Dillon Harchelroad (Hartman was fifth in individual competition).
  • Third place Ag Mechanics team of Liz Tomky, Derek Schilke, Jordan Gibb and Hunter Spady.
  • State Runner-Up Junior Parliamentary Procedure team of Tyler Jennings, Darin Knobbe, Mindy Castle, Jessica Hartman, Travis Luhrs, Destyn Milner and Taylor Wilson.

State degrees
FFA members awarded the State FFA degree were Jordan Gibb, Justin German, Spencer Hartman and Callin Ledall.
This degree is the highest one earned at the state level. Members have to have earned $3,500 in their SAE, have 500 FFA points and 50 community service hours.
Spencer Hartman, who was awarded the District Star in agribusiness in February, came out of an interview process at the state convention to win over three other students for the State Star in agribusiness.
The star applications are based on students’ SAEs.
Advisor Jeremy Vlasin noted that this was a “huge honor. To put it in perspective, Spencer is only the third member in our chapter’s 84 years of existence to win the state star. Paula Leibbrandt and Tab Wood are the other two.”
By the end of Friday evening Hartman had also been elected 2013-14 Nebraska State President. He was one of 17 other FFA members around the state interviewing to be a part of the state officer team.
The interview process is a three-day event at the state convention.
“I always tell the FFA get out of something what you put into it,” Vlasin commented.
The Imperial FFA chapter was judged one of the top 15 premier chapters in the state, and will progress to the national level to be judged for the one, two or three national star chapters.
Vlasin and fellow advisor Jason Speck were thrilled with the students’ successes at the convention. “Our success at this year’s convention was surreal yet deserved,” Vlasin said. “Our FFA members put a lot of time and work into their respective contests and the results correlated with their efforts.”
All results
Results at the State FFA Convention are as follows:

  • State Champion Sr. Parliamentary Procedure—Spencer Hartman, Callin Ledall, Justin German, Shandra Johnson, Cassie Burpo, Ashlin Bussell.
  • State Champion Marketing Plan—purple—Sam Haarberg, Tyler Oxford, Blair Hartman.
  • State Runner-up Jr. Parliamentary Procedure—Jessica Hartman, Darin Knobbe, Tyler Jennings, Travis Luhrs, Mindy Castle, Taylor Wilson, Destyn Milner.
  • State Runner-up Ag Sales—purple—Callin Ledall, red; Blair Hartman, white; Jessica Hartman, purple; Sam Haarberg, red.
  • State Runner-up Food Science—purple—Jessica Hartman, red; MaKenna Ketter, red; Mindy Castle, purple; Claire Kuenne, blue.
  • Ag Technology and Mechanics—3rd purple—Hunter Spady, purple; Elizabeth Tomky, purple; Jordan Gibb, Blue; Derek Schilke, blue.
  • Agronomy—6th purple—Sam Haarberg, purple; Tyler Oxford, blue; Mallory Coleman, blue; Derek Schilke, blue.
  • Jr. Public Speaking—silver—Jessica Hartman.
  • Natural Resources Speaking—bronze—Andrea Hogsett.
  • Jr. Livestock Evaluation—blue—Mindy Castle, purple; Darin Knobbe, red; Regan Gittlein, white; MaKenna Ketter.
  • Farm Management—white—Justin German, white; Bailey Springer, white; Cassie Burpo, white; Jordan Gibb, white.
  • Sr. Livestock Evaluation—white—Shandra Johnson—blue; Kelsey Wood, red; Abbi Vetter, Jordan Gibb.
  • Meat Evaluation—Hunter Dillan, white; Eric Chavira, Caleb Bubak, Regan Gittlein.
  • Livestock Management—Emily Johnston, Makala Bartels, Jordyn Doetker, Bailey Springer, Kaycee Bubak, Kevin Chavira.
  • Agriscience—Regan Gittlein, Eric Chavira, Caleb Bubak, Jared Sharp.

AP Sports List

AP Video Search