Weather Forecast

Click for Imperial, Nebraska Forecast

County designated disaster due to drought conditions PDF Print E-mail

Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Executive Director Dan Steinkruger announced 17 counties have been designated as contiguous natural disaster areas due to the ongoing drought affecting Colorado, Kansas and Missouri. Those counties are:
These counties were declared a Secretarial Disaster on Jan. 9, based on their adjoining primary disaster areas in the specific state.
No county in Nebraska has been declared a primary disaster area as the grazing period has not yet begun in Nebraska. “We anticipate that if drought conditions continue and as we approach the established Nebraska grazing period of May 1 through Oct. 27, a Secretarial Designation will be considered at that time,” said Steinkruger.
A current Nebraska map listing the approved counties is available on the Nebraska FSA website at
This designation authorizes Emergency (EM) Loans for eligible producers.
Steinkruger stated, “Producers are encouraged to contact their local FSA Service Center for detailed information about available programs and updated Secretarial Disaster Designations.”  
In addition to the Emergency (EM) Loan Program, the FSA has other loan programs and disaster assistance programs which can be considered in assisting farmers to recover from their losses.


AP Sports List

AP Video Search